"an editorial about a State Assembly member"

State Assembly members are elected representatives of each Indian State. There are normally between four and nine State Assembly members for each Member of Parliament in the Lok Sabha (The Indian Parliament, also known as The House of the People).

State Assembly members must be Indian citizens over the age of 25. They are voted in for a term of five years, but this can be extended by six months if necessary.

The State Assembly members have the power to make laws in all areas where the Parliament cannot legislate. These include policing, agriculture and public health.