Page 28. " To us, to me, everything happened only in Afrikaans. "

Before the demise of Apartheid, South Africa had two official languages: Afrikaans and English. Afrikaans is a simplification of Dutch, the language of the country’s first European colonizers.

Post-Apartheid South Africa has 11 official languages: IsiNebele, IsiXhosa, IsiZulu, Sepedi, Sesotho, Setswana, SiSwati, Tshivenda, Xitsonga, Afrikaans and English.

Page 32. " There was nothing those books could not explain or illuminate, except, perhaps, the domain of the exotic. "

There was no television in South Africa until 1976. As there was unlikely to be a bookshop in a small town or village, often the only place books were to be found was the local lending library. Strict censorship meant the merest hint at sexuality would see a book banned. In fact, the only book from which a child could learn about the act of procreation was the Bible.

Page 47. " There were no extensions involved, only restrictions "

In 1959, the South African government passed a set of laws concerning further education. Many universities were barred to “non-Europeans”.

The new laws were given the name “The Extension of the University Education Act”.