This map plots the settings and references in A Fork in the Road

To start exploring, click a red pin

South Africa
Springtime in Pretoria
Creative Commons Attribution Share AlikeSpringtime in Pretoria - Credit: Fatima Darries

South Africa is divided into nine provinces: Eastern Cape, Free State, Gauteng, KwaZulu-Natal, Limpopo, Mpumalanga, North West, Northern Cape and Western Cape.


Cape Town photographed from Robben Island.
Creative Commons AttributionCape Town photographed from Robben Island. - Credit: Paul Mannix


Prior to 1994, the country was divided into four provinces: Cape, Orange Free State, Transvaal and Natal.



There are three capitals: Cape Town (legislative), Pretoria (administrative), and Bloemfontein (judicial).