"Free State was born"
The Irish Free State was founded on 6 Decemer 1922, following the signing of the Anglo-Irish Treaty by the British government and Irish representatives the previous year. The state comprised the whole island but Northern Ireland (the 6 counties of Ulster) immediately exercised its right to opt out. The Irish Free State replaced the Irish Republic, established on 21 January 1919.