"The ogdoad"
Ogdoad and sun
Public DomainOgdoad and sun - Credit: Egyptian Mythology

The Ogdoad was the collective name of the eight deities who form the basis of the Egyptian creation myth.

Consisting of four gods (represented as frogs or with the head of a frog) and four goddesses (in the shape of a snake or as a woman with the head of a snake), the Ogdoad personify the essence of the primordial chaos before the creation of the world. They are Nun and Naunet (the primordial water), Huh and Hauhet (infinite space), Kuk and Kauket (darkness), and Amun and Amaunet (representing hidden powers). From themselves they created the mound upon which lay the egg from which the sun god emerged.

The concept of an Ogdoad also appears in Gnostic systems of the early Christian era.


Ogdoad depicted on relief at Dendera Temple, Egypt
Creative Commons AttributionOgdoad depicted on relief at Dendera Temple, Egypt - Credit: Olaf Tausch