"It was kept by Franciscans"

Franciscans belong to any one of the three orders founded by St. Francis of Assisi (1181/82-1226); each of these orders lives according to a set of regulations known as The Rule of St. Francis.

The term most commonly refers to the Order of Friars Minor which may itself be divided into three groups: Franciscan friars, Capuchins and Conventual Franciscans.