"she never heard of Asia Minor"

Asia Minor is an old name for that part of Turkey known as Anatolia. The area is bounded by the Black Sea to the north, the Armenian Highland and Iran to the East, the Mediterranean Sea to the south, and the Aegean Sea to the west.


Map of Asia Minor (1812)
Public DomainMap of Asia Minor (1812) - Credit: Samuel Lewis/Aaron Arrowsmith