"‘Those Leaguers plan to abscond with a whole thirty minutes’"

Following the partition of India, a standard time zone was adopted in the newly independent state of Pakistan putting it 30 minutes behind Indian time. This meant that technically on 15th August, the midnight stroke of India’s independence, it was still 11:30 pm of previous day in West Pakistan. Therefore, Pakistan still celebrates the anniversary of their nation’s independence on 14th August.