"‘performing the right of Puja’"

In Hinduism, Puja is a daily ritual preparing for the day with a ritual cleansing involving devotion by the offering of food, water, drink, and prayers to a deity. Depending on what tradition one follows and situation, Puja can be performed as an elaborate family event or as simple as one person in personal time with God.

Women perform Puja in Goa
Creative Commons AttributionWomen perform Puja in Goa - Credit: S_W_Ellis

The ritual usually follows the below process:

   1. Avahana (“invocation”). The deity is invited to the ceremony.

   2. Asana. The deity is offered a seat.

   3. Svagata (“greeting”). The deity is asked if the journey has gone well.

   4. Padya. The deity’s feet are symbolically washed.

   5. Arghya. Water is offered so the deity may wash face and teeth.

   6. Acamanıya. Water is offered for sipping.

   7. Madhuparka. The deity is offered a water-and-honey drink.

   8. Snana or abhisekha. Water is offered for symbolic bathing.

   9. Vastra (clothing). Here cloth is wrapped on the image and ornaments affixed to it.

  10. Anulepana Perfumes and ointments are applied to the image.

  11. Puspa. Flowers are offered before the image, or garlands draped around its neck.

  12. Dhupa. Incense is burned before the image.

  13. Dıpa A burning lamp is waved in front of the image.

  14. Naivedya Foods such as rice, fruit, clarified butter, sugar, and betel leaf are offered.

  15. Namaskara The worshiper bows before the image to offer homage.

  16. Visarjana or udvasana. The deity is dismissed.