This map plots the settings and references in Siddhartha

To start exploring, click a red pin

Indian subcontinent
Indian Subcontinent
Creative Commons AttributionIndian Subcontinent - Credit: Cacahuate

The Indian subcontinent comprises the South Asian regions of India, Pakistan, and Bangladesh, and also Nepal, Bhutan, and offshore Sri Lanka. It may also be said to include Afghanistan and The Maldives. India constitutes the major portion of the Indian subcontinent, with the northern and northeastern states partially situated in the Himalayan Range.  

The fertile Indo-Gangetic Plain encompasses most of northern and eastern India, the most populous parts of Pakistan, parts of southern Nepal and virtually all of Bangladesh. The region is named after the Indus and the Ganges, the twin river systems that drain it.

Watch a Geo-project video on the Indo-Gangetic plain:



The Federal Democratic Republic of Nepal is located in the Himalayas and is bordered to the north by the People's Republic of China, and to the south, east, and west by the Republic of India. Lumbini, the birthplace of the Buddha, is in Nepal.