"she was a real expert on the Four Quartets"

Extract from 'Dry Salvages' (Loring Park, Minneapolis)
Creative Commons AttributionExtract from 'Dry Salvages' (Loring Park, Minneapolis) - Credit: Ben Ostrowsky, Flickr
The 'Four Quartets' are a group of 4 related poems written by T.S.Eliot over a 6-year period in the late 1930's and early 1940's.

The four poems are: 'Burnt Norton'; 'East Coker'; 'The Dry Salvages'; and 'Little Gidding'. They were first published together in 1943.

Extract from 'Little Gidding':

'Midwinter spring is its own season

Sempiternal* though sodden towards sundown,

Suspended in time, between pole and tropic.


Full Text