"Cherokee Indians who lived in Georgia were forced to leave their homes"

The Trail of Tears refers to the enforced relocation of Indian tribes from their homelands to Indian Territory in the Western United States (present day Oklahoma).

 The tribes included: Cherokee, Delaware, Ottawa, Shawnee, Pawnee, Potawatomi, Sauk, Fox, Miami, Kickapoo, Seminole, Choctaw, Chickasaw, Creek.