"as the element scorches Dante’s nine rings right into your palm, allowing you to grasp Hell in your hand forever"

Dante Alighieri's nine rings of Hell takes place in The Inferno, the first part of Dante's epic poem The Divine Comedy. Hell is depicted as nine circles of suffering located within the Earth;

First Circle (Limbo), Second Circle (Lust), Third Circle (Gluttony), Fourth Circle (Avarice or Greed), Fifth Circle (Wrath and Sullenness), Sixth Circle (Heresy), Seventh Circle (Violence), Eighth Circle (Fraud), and Ninth Circle (Betrayal).