"when your country was still a collection of thirteen small colonies"

British Colonies in America 1763-1775
Public DomainBritish Colonies in America 1763-1775 - Credit: Historical Atlas by William R. Shepherd
America was originally thirteen British colonies on the Atlantic coast, which declared their independence in the American Revolution and so became the United States. The original colonies were Delaware, Pennsylvania, New Jersey, Georgia, Connecticut, Massachusetts Bay, Maryland, South Carolina, New Hampshire, Virginia, New York, North Carolina, and Rhode Island and Providence. They declared their independence in and fought the British in the American War of Independence between 1775 and 1783, one hundred years after the Badshahi Mosque was built in Lahore.