"What about SEATO and the Cold War?"

SEATO stands for South-East Asia Treaty Organization. It was created to block further communist gains in Southeast Asia.

SEATO came into existence when the Manila Pact was signed in 1954, as part of the Truman Doctrine. Members of SEATO included Australia, France, New Zealand, Pakistan, the Philippines, Thailand, the UK, and the US.

It is generally considered to have been a failure.