A. S. Byatt
Creative Commons Attribution Share AlikeA. S. Byatt - Credit: Seamus Kearney

Dame Antonia Susan Duffy – more commonly known as A. S. Byatt - was born Antonia Susan Drabble on the 24th of August 1936, in Sheffield, England, to John Drabble QC and Kathleen Bloor.

Her first novel, The Shadow of the Sun, was published in 1964 while she was lecturing in the Department of Extra-Mural Studies at London University. Since then she has published many original works, including novels and collections of short stories and essays, edited various collected works and has had two of her books, Possession and Angels and Insects made into successful movies. Her four-part work The Frederica Quartet was made into a 30-part BBC radio series in 2002. She has also won numerous literature awards, including the highly prestigious Booker Prize in 1990 for Possession. Byatt was awarded a CBE in 1990 and a DBE in 1999.

In 1959 A. S. Byatt was married to Ian Charles Rayner Byatt. The couple had a daughter, as well as a son who was tragically killed in a car accident at the age of 11. In 1969 their marriage was dissolved. She later married Peter John Duffy. The couple have two daughters.


A. S. Byatt Official Site


Random House Byatt Profile


2009 Guardian Interview with Byatt


Cambridge Authors: Byatt


BBC Interview