Richard Russell "Rick" Riordan, Jr. (born June 5, 1964) is the author of the Percy Jackson & the Olympians series. He also wrote the Tres Navarremystery series for adults and helped to edit Demigods and Monsters, a collection of essays on the topic of his Percy Jackson series. He helped develop the 10 books in The 39 Clues series, published by Scholastic Corporation, and wrote the first book in the series, The Maze of Bones. Some of the new series he is working on are The Kane Chronicles (the first book being The Red Pyramid, which focuses on Egyptian Mythology; and The Heroes of Olympus (the first book being The Lost Hero), which is the sequel to the Percy Jackson series and still focuses on Greek Mythology, but Roman Mythology is also added.


Rick Riordan
Public DomainRick Riordan

Riordan was raised in San Antonio, Texas. He graduated from Alamo Heights High School in 1982 and the University of Texas at Austin in 1986, where he double-majored in English and history. Riordan taught English and history, including Greek mythology, in middle schools in the San Francisco Bay Area and in San Antonio. He was awarded St. Mary's Hall's first Master Teacher Award in 2002.

As a novelist, Riordan has created many successful series. The multi-award-winning Tres Navarre mystery series, intended for adults, follows the fast-paced adventures of an erudite Texan private eye. Riordan also helped create the young adult series The 39 Clues; he authored several of its books, including The Maze of Bones, which topped the New York Times Best Seller list on September 28, 2008. His Percy Jackson and the Olympians series features a twelve-year-old boy who discovers he is the modern-day son of an ancient Greek god. Twentieth Century Fox purchased the film rights and released a feature film on February 12, 2010. Following the success of Percy Jackson, Rick Riordan created The Kane Chronicles, which features a modern-day Egyptian pantheon and two new sibling protagonists. Its first book, The Red Pyramid, was released on May 4, 2010; the sequel will be released on May 3, 2011. Riordan also created a sequel series to the Percy Jackson books, The Heroes of Olympus. Its first book, The Lost Hero, was released in the U.S. on October 12, 2010; the sequel, The Son of Neptune, is expected to arrive in October. Riordan plans to expand both series simultaneously. The Heroes of Olympus will have five books and The Kane Chronicles with three books.

Rick Riordan lives in San Antonio with his wife and their two sons.